Hardik Pandya X Photo

Hardik Pandya Appointed Mumbai Indians Captain for IPL 2024

Hardik Pandya ( Indian Cricketer ) Appointed Mumbai Indians Captain for IPL 2024

Mumbai Indians have announced Hardik Pandya ( Indian Cricketer ) as the captain for the upcoming edition of the Indian Premier League. Pandya will replace Rohit Sharma who was leading the team since 2013. MI’s Global Head of Performance Mahela Jayawardene said Pandya’s appointment is in line with the franchise’s philosophy of being “future-ready”.

“It is part of legacy building and staying true to the MI philosophy of being future-ready. Mumbai Indians have always been blessed with exceptional leadership from Sachin to Harbhajan and Ricky to Rohit, who while contributing to the immediate success have always had an eye on strengthening the team for the future. It is in keeping with this philosophy that Hardik Pandya will assume captaincy of Mumbai Indians for the IPL 2024 season,” said Mahela in an official statement.

Mahela also expressed gratitude to Rohit Sharma for “exceptional leadership” during his tenure which lasted a decade and saw MI dominate the cash-rich league with consistent performances.

“We express our gratitude to Rohit Sharma for his exceptional leadership; his tenure as the captain of the Mumbai Indians since 2013 has been nothing short of extraordinary. His leadership has brought unparalleled success to the team and solidified his place as one of the finest captains in the history of the IPL,” added Mahela.

The former Sri Lanka captain further added that the franchise would look forward to Rohit’s guidance both on and off the field, and welcomed Pandya as the new captain of MI.

“Under his guidance, MI became one of the most successful and loved teams ever. We will look forward to his guidance and experience on and off the field to further strengthen MI. We welcome Hardik Pandya as the new captain of MI and wish him all the very best,” said Mahela.

Under Pandya, GT won the title in 2022 and were runners-up in the 2023 edition of the cash-rich league. The two editions were the first real test of

Mumbai Indians have won five titles.